To Brad Paisley and LL Cool J : THANK YOU

This is an open letter to Brad Paisley and LL Cool J:

Gentlemen– I Thank you. Thank you for the wake up song “Accidental Racist” You have started a conversation in America. Good for You both.

However there seems to be a problem. It seems that most of the clowns who have access to a computer and the internet who are talking about your new song did not get the point, – or they don’t want to talk about it, but they feel they have to talk about it, so they hi-jack the subject and take it to other topics that fit their agenda what a pity.

We need to get past the past. as you say none of us were in that time. so Let us all move on past the tired old noise and conversate productively. (Brads explanation)

If a married couple has a big long lasting argument about something, they will never move on with the marriage if they just dwell on the past. This same fact affects a people, or 2 Peoples, ( races), and all nations, and the whole political arena as well.

IT is time to stop pointing fingers, screaming, name calling, and ‘Positioning’ “My cause”!

IT is time to work together, talk to each other, listen to each other, accept each other differences, and lets just all try to get along, and probably make some great new friends in the process.

Brad and James, I hope that someone one in your organizations or a close friend to one or the other of you sees this blog and brings it to your attention. I am betting that a lot of people quietly approve of this song, and are glad you recorded it and will do something to make their world better around them.

Oh,  and to all those journalist that think this was a bad idea? You are wrong! This was a great idea!

I broke my policy on this blog to not talk about politics,- well not really because this is a Human Issue – Political arenas just hi-jack it for their personal causes.

Comments invited!

Nuff Said

About Air Cooled Underware

Everyday life provides many an occasion to make you think "hmmmm, " and you feel that you may offer some insight to that situaion, or have an alternate view of it. This occurs to me a lot. when this happens I have to express it someway and so I write about these things and just maybe I will catch the interest of a reader / follower or two long the way. For further information about "ME", click on "About Me" above. Thanks for reading my Stuff.
This entry was posted in ..and Raves, General Bloggin, GREAT INSPIRATIONS and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to To Brad Paisley and LL Cool J : THANK YOU

  1. Thank you very much Dramaqeen

  2. OK. Been hearing about this a lot, so I listened to both the song and Brad’s clip on Ellen. And I can see points on all sides. Overall, I agree with you that we need to stop pretending it’s not out there, deal with it and MOVE THE HELL ON. Now, artistically this wasn’t one of LL’s better raps, and some of the logic in the lyrics is faulty (I’m Black and I judge doo-rags…at least in public. That’s trifling whatever race you are). But I know the intentions were honorable, so I’m cutting a wide berth there. I never really got the vehemence about the Southern flag myself–the flag never did any damage, it was the people underneath it. I have yet to find that comfortable balance between Southern pride and Black pride in that particular regard, but it’s a good point to start “conversating.” (My English teacher mother is cringing as i type this, I’m sure, but I know it was used to fit the cadence of the verse.)

    It’s really hard to just “forgive” slavery, segregation, discrimination and the systematic marginalization of a whole race of people–I’m sure if the red flag of reference was that of the Third Reich’s, there would still be some painful feelings and issues there. But we can’t changed that any of it happened; we can only change where we go from here. Sadly, there are some that will remain stuck in the ugly side of “pride” and “patriotism,” but that just means the rest of us have to work that much harder at writing new chapters.

Now it's your turn...

