in Honor of my friend Frank Crivello

I started my day at work as usual, firing up the dreaded computer, then logging on to the usual nine or so software applications that I use everyday, but upon looking over the master plan for the day I see that I and several other fellow cube-ites (not to be confused with cubits) are all slated for a two-hour time frame away from The Machine. “Ah something a little different today”. Probably some group training. That will be a pleasant change.

An hour later one of the supervisors tells me ‘ I know you have been away a few days but I presumed you would want to go to Franks Memorial service today so I blocked you in for it”

I had not heard. I was stunned. It took a few moments to register. The cancer finally got him. My friend Frank Crivello was dead at the age of 58.

Frank was my best work friend.  He was an absolute joy to have around. We work in a pretty high stress job, and if there is any remnant of humor about any situation at work, Frank was always able to point it out, and at least tug a smile out of us in those not so fun moments. And when he was on a roll, we would be rolling on the floor laughing.

His two daughters were definatly his purpose in life and his crowning achievement.  As they finished college and started on  paths to very promising careers, Frank was as proud of them as any parent can be.  It was always fun to listen to the tales of his girls and how they had plans for HIM  this weekend, or how He could better his life just by helping one of them move, AGAIN, this weekend. It was always a labor of love for him. He would have been lost without them.

He was an avid reader. There were probably very few subjects that H didn’t know something about, as he could converse about many things. He and I would talk about wood working, which was one of his favorite hobbies. He had a lot of good insights for me on this subject.

Recipies…. Frank loved to cook. At least once a week he would regale us with his plans for dinner. He would go into the whole thing. He bought Fresh this or that, was going to cut/grind/peel/puree/sautee/simmer/……… and on and on, and he made it sound so simple to do.  Dinners must have been pretty good at the Crivello’s.

He and I weren’t hangin’ out buddies, or go have a beer buddies, (our shifts overlapped) just work buddies. Frank helped me to keep things real enough and light enough to not take work too seriously and get all mad ‘n stuff.

I can’t say ‘Nuff about him.  I am going to miss that wonderful funny man.

About Air Cooled Underware

Everyday life provides many an occasion to make you think "hmmmm, " and you feel that you may offer some insight to that situaion, or have an alternate view of it. This occurs to me a lot. when this happens I have to express it someway and so I write about these things and just maybe I will catch the interest of a reader / follower or two long the way. For further information about "ME", click on "About Me" above. Thanks for reading my Stuff.
This entry was posted in General Bloggin, GREAT INSPIRATIONS, Memories of .. and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to in Honor of my friend Frank Crivello

  1. Just last week a teacher at the preschool where my husband works died. It was totally unexpected. This is a very small school so the staff were all close. I had to go over on Saturday for PTV, and somehow they all managed to keep things cheerful, though I could tell there was a cloud over the place that normally wasn’t there. I guess when you work with children, you have to make that effort, but I could tell it wasn’t easy for them.
    I didn’t know this teacher personally, but my husband works closely with all his staff, so it hit him hard. I can’t recall the last time I saw him cry.

  2. strawberryquicksand says:

    It’s a shock, isn’t it. I went and got myself married and when I got back, I asked my colleague where Barry was. “deceased” was his reply. Now, my colleague, Bill, was not much of a joker but i couldn’t help but think he was joking with me. Sadly he was serious. Barry, aged 36, had gone in for a routine overnight surgery, and not come back out the other end.

    At least you didn’t find out about Frank via Facebook, which is the medium through which I have learned of many life events such as engagements, deaths etc. Sadly, however, your colleague didn’t break it to you gently, but rather dropped it like a blockbuster. I am sure you will miss Frank, and will all talk about him often. It happens. You work with enough people and some will pass on. I think of all the people I have worked with in the past and are no longer with us today, and there are quite a few. Today is Frank’s day, however, so I hope his memorial was a memorial one and as jovial and good humoured as it is possible for a memorial to be, as would be fitting his personality and style.

  3. You are so right MommyEverything. Thank You

  4. Nothing makes going to work better than a good friend at the office. They help you get through the day and may even help you look forward to your time at the office. I am so sorry for your loss.

Now it's your turn...

