My Doc Quit, I found my Gtars and Keys, We lost our Bengal, and other updates

Hello Friends and Followers. Now that December is about here in Ohio, It is getting to be COLD outside. Perhaps this will get me fired up to start pluggin’ some stuff in here again. . Let’s Hope SO. ( I have missed this- really, and I have felt guilty for not writing)

Here whats been happening for those who take a personal interest in old ‘Nuff Said, aka Air Cooled Underware………

Most recent – this weekend Me and MRS A.C.U. tackled My Office. This room was once a bedroom for 2 of the offspring when they were residents of our home. As they grew up and got nearer to taking flight on their own, I had decided this room was going to be my Office/Studio/Hamshack. unfortunately it has often served as temp storage to house STUFF while in transition for one project or another. But on this weekend I found my Guitars, and my Keyboards, (including an accordion that I haven’t taken on yet) and my clarinet and amps. And there is still room for a small Drum kit yet)

Here you can see my Hamond, and 2 Yamaha's. My 5 guitars are all in thier cases bundled in the corner. The amps are below the clavinova

Here you can see my Hammond, and 2 Yamaha’s. My 5 guitars are all in their cases bundled in the corner. The amps are below the clavinova. hidden in there is an accordian

I even found time to replace the power cord for the little Hammond organ so I can fire it up again. It was shorting out so I count chance plugging it in.

Now when I get  the desire I can just sit down and disappear into myself. I still need a recording deck and some  cords, mike,  and direct boxes and a power conditioner, and mixer, and…….. oh well.

At least I can go play again or grab a guitar and amp and GO PLAY !

November also brought about the bad news that our family Doctor is Quitting his practice. And real fast too. like within the next 3 weeks. We have been using this guy for over 20 years.Now we have to research and interview for a new family doctor.  He is closing his practice. Boom! Door slammed. WOW.

I wish no ill will for Dr. Scott. He has been a great guy and in some ways  a part of the family. and his office people have always been Great. His NP’s Nina and Amy, Sharon who ran the office, and the nurses Erin, and Lori and others we came to know and love, and for our  Dietician/Cheerleader/Author Laura. We will miss them all.

Smart as a whip, and as sweet as can be Laura V. Her book is inspiring.

Smart as a whip, and as sweet as can be Laura V. Her book is inspiring.

Yea guys, I used to hate having to take Mrs. A.C.U to her doctor appointment and have to sit in the waiting room with nothing to do but read the news on my Blackberry, and watch these ladies work
(wink wink)

Yes, this is really my R.D. Laura. She worked there for over a year before we learned that she is the oldest NFL cheerleader in the US. So far she had made the squad 4 years running.  She is a  tenacious Lady.

( and no I still haven’t told anyone I know that this blog exists, only the MRS. knows.)

Ok so previously on last weeks episode, Let’s flash back all summer and spring and late winter. First I got a nasty winter cold.  A month later I got diverticulitis. Thanks to the tests they ran to verify that, I had to go have more pictures taken of my insides, and it was discovered that I had a little bit of cancer in me. Well that just wont do. No No NO. So Off to another doctor I go. That was NOT FUN. You see the cancer was in my bladder.
DO YOU KNOW HOW THEY OPERATE ON BLADDER CANCER? Look it up om Web MD. I’m telling you some parts of the body are NOT DESIGNED to have cameras and cutting things inserted in them. I don’t care how small the camera is, a persons’ %$#@ is designed as a  one way orifice. The human body is not pleased with things poking around the insides!!!!! Especially if one is awake!

I am glad to say that they got it all.

I was told in no uncertain terms that I had to quit smoking. It is a leading contributor to bladder cancer, per the AMA. Oh Joy –another dam challenge.
After the first surgery I tried using the patch and doing a gradual reduction, but I wasn’t real successful. When I had my followup visit three months later with the good Doctor and his Fun Machine (oh Hell- AGAIN?), He had to look real close but found a tiny little bit of growth. So I had to let total strangers do unholy things to me again.

So the Cigarettes are pretty gone now at this point. Mostly. I don’t buy them any more. NO instead I am the pest who hits people up at work once in a while ” hey buddy, have ya got…”.
Ii have gone from a pack or more a day to sometimes one or two cigarettes a day at work, and none on my days off. I have kept this up for 6 weeks now.   After 40+ years of smoking, I am now a recovering smoker. ( so far).

I have to say that MRS.  A.C.U has been super though out all of this. She was the best nurse when I was recovering.  And as a coach on the smoking habit- she gave me NO Grief about it. Her attitude about it all was much better than I ever expected.

Oh Yea- I forgot about the fake heart attack in mid summer — Really !

It sure felt like chest pain, but after scaring the hell out of everyone, and a ride in the ambalance, (sic) and a stress test, it was decided that I did NOT have one. so that was good news.  I am sure in hock to the hospitals and doctors now  though.

So- this I guess is my version of “what I did on my Summer Vacation” article I s’pose.

I’ve said enough for now.

‘Nuff Said.

What have You been doing while I was aware having all this fun??????

About Air Cooled Underware

Everyday life provides many an occasion to make you think "hmmmm, " and you feel that you may offer some insight to that situaion, or have an alternate view of it. This occurs to me a lot. when this happens I have to express it someway and so I write about these things and just maybe I will catch the interest of a reader / follower or two long the way. For further information about "ME", click on "About Me" above. Thanks for reading my Stuff.
This entry was posted in General Bloggin and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to My Doc Quit, I found my Gtars and Keys, We lost our Bengal, and other updates

  1. strawberryquicksand says:

    Goodness me! So they got all the cancer? I had the same dentist for twenty years and then had to find a new one…

  2. UPDATE! Yesterday I found a program that will work well for recording onto my computer for about $50, so I am now VERY CLOSE to being a recording engineer/STAR- GRIN!!!!!!
    I am a Happy Man.

  3. susielindau says:

    Sheesh! So much happened to you in that time that instead of a blog post, you could write a book!
    I am so glad to hear that you are recovering from the surgery and have remained cancer free. Sounds like you are in very good hands with Mrs. ACU!
    I will look forward to more posts from you. Right???? 🙂

  4. aFrankAngle says:

    And as a Cincinnatian, go Bengals.

  5. Had the chest pain thing myself. Called an ambulance ’cause there was nausea too, and that’s a lady symptom of heart attacks (since hubby’s aunt died that way, I wasn’t taking any chances). Turned out to be gas, but I much prefer alive and embarassed to being cool and dead. Good luck with the bladder issue and the not smoking–I can’t imagine either is easy.

    And you shouldn’t beat yourself up so much about not blogging. Sometimes it comes in bursts of inspiration, and sometimes you just have to ride out the droughts. Keep it from feeling like a chore and you should be fine.

    • Hi Queen. Yea I went to bed with the pain and by early morning it had not subsided, so I thought I better go check it out.
      The Blogging is not the chore. It’s getting the CHORES DONE so I can find time to BLOG– hey that sounds like a great tag line for someone! GRIN I surprise myself. IT COULD EVEN BE A BLOG UNTO IT SELF.

  6. Good news is always good news! Nice to see you back slogging through everyday stuff…like the rest of us!! Welcome home…

Now it's your turn...

