Oh my I have been freshly Pressed- whatever shall I do?

I have no idea how articles are selected for the honor of being put right up front on the  Freshly Pressed Page,  all I know is it happened to me without notice and I had only been on Word Press  about 3 weeks when it happened.  I was still just playing around with the look and feel of the site. Several of my first posts were just tests so they were deleted early.

The article I wrote was my 7th entry called “I Just don’t wanna…” . I wrote it on a cold and dreary Friday evening—just messin around. It was the mood I was in at the time. I suppose a couple of people  strolled by and read it,, I really don’t remember now. I may have had 4 or 5 followers at that time.

On a Wednesday  afternoon about ten days later The Wife and I were doing something or other around the house when my blackberry sounded several pings indicating that one of my email accounts had just received several emails. Not a big deal. Happens on a regular basis.

I have a friend who does all of his email biz at one time and so I figured it was just Fred sending out his BBS messages.

A few minutes later several more pings came in.. and some more.. and then some more. This was starting to concern me. The club I am a member of is involved with Emergency Management  functions in our area and I thought  maybe I better check to see what all the email is about. There may be something big going on that I needed to get involved in.

When I logged onto my phone and saw that I had almost 50 emails from Word Press.
I was stunned…       “What the He”…  I thought .  I began to read some of the  comments and on  about the 3rd one it said “Congrats on Being Freshly Pressed”.

to use a local expression ,  I about  shit my Pants. I scrambled to a computer to log on my site and sure enough—there was my article right up there on the front page of Word Press.  At this point I am now wearing a new wardrobe, called a Big Shit Eating Grin on my face and the Wife is asking me questions …………

I had not mention to my wife that I had started this blog—well cuz I just hadn’t. No reason really. So while  I am explaining to her about the blog,  my phone just keeps bingin and bingin bingin – I had to shut the phone off.

“Wow this is going to go on for a while. My email server is going to go Spastic with all this traffic and start sending it to spam folder or something.”

I have to say it was a Great and Fun experience. And it is why I have the number of “followers” that I do. And I have ‘met’ some great people  here because of it.

So after making several changes to the account settings over that next 96 hours, I finally figured out how to deal with all this… and SO – BELOW I offer these suggestions on what action to take if you suddenly find that You have been selected as a Freshly Pressed Sweepstakes Winner.

  1. SET UP A SPAM EMAIL ADDRESS ACCOUNT and immediately divert your wordpress email to that account temporarily

If you have your settings set to get emails for ANY reason on your blog here, your email box will EXPLODE.  If you get your emails automatically sent to your smart phone,, IT will EXPLODE. ( I speak figuratively of course).
I  have a SPAM email address set up just to take spam – for example – When Staples, or Wal-Mart or “www.howtofixyourcar.com “ websites that require you to have a valid email address so you can sign up to read their ’Exclusive Content’ or what ever, I use my SPAM email address for those kinds of  accounts. (I know they are going to sell my email address, so I give them that address for all kinds of junk stuff like that. AND I don’t have to sift thru all that stuff to get to read my real email. That way I only get real email to my real email address.

  1. MAKE TIME TO READ  EVERY COMMENT that people leave on any of your pages and respond to those comments in genuine ways. Don’t just type “Thanks Bunches”, or “Thanks a Lot” or “You Too”.  This can start a wonderful conversation with some new friends, and you will find some wonderful writers , photographers and artists out there.  It may take you several days or even week to get to everyone as it did me. It is just common courtesy to acknowledge your “guests” since they came to your “home” for a quick visit
  1.  ENJOY THE LIMELIGHT!  It was a wonderful experience  that honestly can give you a big head—so WATCH IT  🙂  My personal count was  about 1700 hits the first day and over 2000 new hits the second day, and then it rolled off from there. The month total count was over 9100 new hits. And for some reason I still get first hits on that one article as their entry point some times.
About Air Cooled Underware

Everyday life provides many an occasion to make you think "hmmmm, " and you feel that you may offer some insight to that situaion, or have an alternate view of it. This occurs to me a lot. when this happens I have to express it someway and so I write about these things and just maybe I will catch the interest of a reader / follower or two long the way. For further information about "ME", click on "About Me" above. Thanks for reading my Stuff.
This entry was posted in General Bloggin and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Oh my I have been freshly Pressed- whatever shall I do?

  1. Robin says:

    lol! I felt the same way when my blog was Freshly Pressed (quite some time ago). It’s pretty exciting, isn’t it?

  2. If I didn’t rather like you already (and pretty much owe you for the VBA nom), I’d have to hate you for getting “Pressed.” I’m STILL trying to figure out how to pull it off…and every time I convince myself I don’t care, another one of my friends gets Pressed, and the cycle starts all over again. *pout*

    BTW, that’s WTP code for “Congratulations!”

  3. benrowef64 says:

    Great advice. I think it is a great honour to be on freshly pressed because someone must have seen something good in a post to have it put for the “award”. I would like to know the criteria that they use and who decides to make it seem less like a lottery.
    Great post.

    • You have Great Names for your sign in and your blog! I love it. I see you too are now a soon to be ‘veteran’ of the honor. Congratulations Ben. enjoy the ride. I have no idea what the criteria are. Thank you for reading and for you comment.

  4. Pink Ninjabi says:

    See! I knew you ARE amazing! Incredible you are. Hope you keep feeding us your delights of thoughts and writing! 😀

Now it's your turn...

