Memories of… The Preface

Wow!!!  When you reach a certain age, it seems that so much of your life has just whizzed by. ZOOOM!!! Where did it go?

The last several years for us has been a series of losses of Family and Friends for both my Wife and I. Between us we have lost 3 parents, a step parent, a sister, and countless good friends and acquaintances. Mind you we are not THAT old. We are only in our Mid/Early fifties,  and some of these people left this world sooner than one normally would expect.

As a result of having to handle the removal of our loved ones personal property you discover interesting documents,  and find lost toys (and you DON’T find things you were pretty sure should have been there) , that bring back lost memories.  Many of these are good memories, and so I have decided to break my life into chunks of about 10 years, partly so I can get a handle on my timeline. some of this will be humorous, and some of it will bring misty eyes, but it is all good.

It is not gong to be a rant about disadvantages, or the failings of those who raised us. No Parent is perfect, and from my vantage point of being a grandparent, I believe that most parents everywhere do the best they can with what they have to work with. I see no purpose in desecrating the memory of people in my life. Because in spite of any bad events, or situations, when I have looked back on it, I discovered that I really had it pretty decent.

This could be my Legacy writing for my children and grandchildren. As I prepare to begin the first installment I find that I am anxious to get these written so that I can get as much of this down while the thoughts are flowing through my head. So I give you my series called “Memories of…”

addendum: As I begin my first installment, it is becoming apparent that maybe I need to break this down to chunks of five years or less. It seems as I remember more while I write this there is way too much material to try to do it in ten-year blocks…… and  so back to work on the first installment.

About Air Cooled Underware

Everyday life provides many an occasion to make you think "hmmmm, " and you feel that you may offer some insight to that situaion, or have an alternate view of it. This occurs to me a lot. when this happens I have to express it someway and so I write about these things and just maybe I will catch the interest of a reader / follower or two long the way. For further information about "ME", click on "About Me" above. Thanks for reading my Stuff.
This entry was posted in Memories of .. and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Memories of… The Preface

  1. Pink Ninjabi says:

    I am totally inspired to do the same (also, in case I get alzheimers and don’t remember who I am).

    I am sorry for your loss, and I am inspired by how resilient your perspective is.

    Looking forward to reading how your reflect on your hears in five year segments. Perhaps drawings would help too? http://dw-wp.com/ which is also available from Amazon for purchase. LOVE IT for any ‘wish-I-could-draw’ wannabe artists out there. It totally gets you motivated to draw words and to write pictures. 😀

  2. Very well said. Fortunately memories are selective and if we choose to keep the positive, then the beauty of the good remains and this mistakes and errors move on down the road. Blessings to you.

  3. abtwixt says:

    I love it! Can’t wait!

  4. zelmare says:

    Hi John!
    What a wonderful idea! I can imagine that doing something like that will stir up lots of emotions…

    I always find it sad when people look back on their lives and blame their parents, teachers, exes, siblings, etc., for things that have gone wrong in their lives. Life is full of good and bad experiences, good and bad people. It is after all (cliche, I know) what you do with these experiences that count in life. To go through life with bitterness over perceived wrongs done to you, only makes one’s own life miserable. (I tried that, I know!)

    So, I hope you enjoy your journey through the past – I know I’m looking forward to reading it.

    Bye for now!
    Zelmare

    • Thank you Zelmare. I am really looking forward to writing this series. There is too much Pissin’ and Moanin’ going on in this world, (Oh did he really just say that?) One has to enjoy the good things that happen to them and got Over the bad crap that happens to them, and get on with life.
      I have 3 goals in writing this blog. #1 To make people smile, Laugh, or maybe even ROFLLMAO . #2 To improve my writing skills- it is something I always wanted to do. I am told i have a flair for it . “We shall see”. and #3. Maybe get people to think about why they think the way they think about the things they think about.
      I will be waiting for you comments on these as I progress.
      Nuff Said.

Now it's your turn...

