Men vs Women Bloggers

Reading all of the comments and seeing all of the LIKE’s of  all the blogger since I got Pressed, there seem to be many more Women bloggers than Men. Please leave your thoughts on why you think this is so on the comments below.. I am somewhat surprised by this imbalance and I would like to know why this is.

Thanks All who respond.

 

About Air Cooled Underware

Everyday life provides many an occasion to make you think "hmmmm, " and you feel that you may offer some insight to that situaion, or have an alternate view of it. This occurs to me a lot. when this happens I have to express it someway and so I write about these things and just maybe I will catch the interest of a reader / follower or two long the way. For further information about "ME", click on "About Me" above. Thanks for reading my Stuff.
This entry was posted in General Bloggin and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

23 Responses to Men vs Women Bloggers

  1. bearrunner says:

    I’d say that is an accurate observation…

    cheers

  2. sweetopiagirl says:

    Reblogged this on Inspiredweightloss.

  3. Dew says:

    like some of your other commenters, I think it may be because women blog more. or so my instinct would have me think.

    or maybe it’s because your Freshly Pressed post appeals to women more?

  4. Alex.:) says:

    May be because the men don’t feel like writing something… or may be because some of them don’t have time.

  5. Shel says:

    It can be scary and vulnerable to put yourself out there by blogging. I think society teaches women that we are vulnerable by virtue of being female, so it’s a concept we’re used to. Why this should be is a bigger question, and something that’s been weighing heavily on my mind lately.

  6. ataraxiphile says:

    Women like to share more. They’re okay with letting out the stuff that’s in their hearts and on their minds!

  7. Eilish says:

    Is a female reaction from the other part of the world also valuable ? I live in Belgium, near Brussels (in a small country like Belgium, everything is near)
    I do agree with the reaction of sharonfadale, but I also follow a lot of male bloggers (some make me laugh, others are more serious and learn met something). It’s a pity that we don’t have a translater fonction on our blogs, to anable you to read us

  8. charlywalker says:

    It’s our public diary that we don ‘t hide under the mattress!

  9. If you don’t show up, you can’t play.
    If this were a sporting event, my guess is, the ratio would be reversed…
    and they’d all have an opinion.

  10. Well now “AIR COOLED UNDERWARE”… I do believe you’ve answered your own question in your funny name … Men think with another part of their anatomy many times… and and well, as you yourself have so humorously told us about YOU… some hide behind the vale if you will…. Not wanting to disclose who they really are, for fear of being authentic, being one with feelings, without “armor on”. With that said, there are thousands of authentic men out there, blogging and talking, and feeling with all their senses.
    Men and women are different in countless ways, not just the obvious and the way they wear their wares; the one that I speak most to is the ways in which they grieve loss, death, dying.
    Men have historically been the ones to support, to provide to attempt to be strong; and often self prescirbe that role; even when they need to write, to talk to feel… and many are now finding their path to do that with pride in better relationships in their lives and work and business …
    While still maintaining ways to be independent and strong, with fierce and beautiful senses of humor and the ability to stand for something and someone preventing a fall for anything.
    So then, I suspect that I’ve written tooooo much, and I hope you will find others who also will share the writings and thoughts of lovely men and women
    along with the comedy of those who think with all of their brains while clothed and those who bare their souls as well as their under ware! Be well … it’s ok to let folks know “the real you”!

  11. Off Duty Mom says:

    Agree. My husband thinks blogging is stupid. And, he was an English major in college. But, having been an English teacher myself, I can say that my advanced classes were almost always far more full with young women than with young men. And, subsequently, the advanced math and science classes were always traditionally full of boys, but there has been a real push to bring more girls into STEM recently. There is no comparable push to bring more young men into language, visual or musical arts. So, it seems as a society, we seem hell-bent on providing women with more and more opportunities, while we’re satisfied to allow boys to maintain a holding pattern. Perhaps the question ought not to be “why aren’t there more male bloggers,” and instead should be “how can we encourage more males to enter the worlds of language, art, media and communications?”.

  12. Nelson says:

    I have thought about it these days. Having friends was not part of my childhood. At that time my closest neighbor was about three blocks away. So sharing thoughts and feelings was not common. My mom was super protective. Kept us away from humans and unknown ones lol. Till now I have followed this model of behavior. I do not recommend it at all.
    The day I first read your blog, somehow you mirrored me: a man with a moment of loneliness. That caught my attention. Also I love that picture (wallpaper).
    Nowadays I post in a blog of my friend and tutor like woman. She gave me lots of opportunities in life; mainly professional support. The texts are directed to people interested in that subject, men, women and children. Hope people enjoy it and use it.
    Thank you.
    Apologies for my grammar.

  13. abtwixt says:

    I agree with what the other commenters have been saying, with one addition: I think the fact that blogs are public put off many men. If it was for a purpose, like promoting a business or cause – that is different, and many men’s blogs seem to be like that. However, when it comes to writing personal thoughts and emotions in a public space, where anyone and everyone can see, I think many men have trouble justifying it.

  14. Actually, if you take a look at the statistics men blog more than women (for now anyway). Women use more social media sites (Facebook, LinkedIn, Twitter, Pinterest etc) to interact and build relationships more though.
    Here’s a link you might want to check out. I think you’ll find the infographs interesting. (I viewed a fair amount of demograph/infograph sites based on “blogging” and this one seemed to show it best). http://webhostinggeeks.com/infographics/how-we-are-blogging/

  15. chindor says:

    When I look at myself I think I can explain myself better in writing than in conversation. I like to think about every sentence, men sometimes say things before thinking. A man who writes also has to take time to think about what he wants to say, how to say it, considering wether or not something is offensive, etc ect. I wonder if men want to do that….

  16. Birdie says:

    Am sitting here, nodding as I read everyone’s comments. I have noticed, when visiting relatives Stateside, that there are times when women are expressing and talking so much, they really don’t give men a chance to contribute a word or two… or more. But when with a man, one-on-one, they DO talk and share valuable advice worth listening to. I wish more guys would get over their fear, disinterest, or whatever it may be, and blog! 🙂

  17. CeCe says:

    I’d say that it’s because women tend to be more verbose and open with our feelings than men are. But when men do write… well, nine times out of ten, I’m very happy to read what they have to say.

  18. glenn147 says:

    I have Noticed the Same thing, I believe that a lot of men feel it is foolish to write a Blog. Well I must be a Big Fool, I write 5 of them. It seems to me that a lot of men have a hard time talking about themselves or Explaining. Most Men don’t like to talk on the Phone but Woman Do. I have Noticed that a lot more of the Photography Blogs are by Men….

  19. keatslover says:

    Well,I’m in high school too, and I think it’s because women feel the need to express themselves more(this is in general, though there are a few exceptions).Also, women are more at ease with their emotions and feelings than men. So, I guess it’s much easier for them to put their thoughts into words.

  20. Now I am only in high school but out of all of the english classes I’ve had I have noticed that the young men hate the class (and normally do poorly). And it might be stereotypical for me to mention but women have the tendency to talk more than men, I think most of us could figure that out (there are exceptions to the rule). So maybe women just feel the need to voice things more? Good question.

    • sharonfadale says:

      I fear that it does sound stereotypical, but I really think you’re on to something. I had asked my husband if he’d ever consider blogging and he simply laughed. Women are more chatty – we want to verbalize things and work things out more than men. I know that’s a generality, but overall, women talk and men “do”. But, as a woman, I have to admit that I read more blogs that belong to men. They have less “fluff” in their writing, they say what they mean, and I appreciate their insight.

Now it's your turn...

