I just don’t wanna…

Winter is my don’t wanna time it seems.
There are a thousand things (well maybe a hundred) that need to be done, but this evening I am just in a mood that I don’t feel like it.

There is a nearly finished project on the garage that I could have brought closer to completion, so I can get it out of my way,
I could have cleaned up the work shop so I could find my tools,
I could have straightened up my studio so I can get to my guitars and maybe play a little bit just to see if I remember how, ………….

I should empty the dishwasher but I don’t wanna.
My check came in yesterday and I should go pay the bills , but I just don’t wanna.
I have all the paperwork to do our taxes, and I know were getting a good size refund,
but ( ok class- ) ” I just don’t wanna”. That’s right class.

While I have the evening free, (the wife is babysitting overnight one of our grandkids because our daughter and her husband both work in  public service jobs that entail long odd hours), I could find those missing brio track sections on ebay we need and get them bought so we have complete set for all the boys to play with when they come over,
BUT–  You guessed it. I DONT WANNA.

I DID run the dishwasher so at least I got that done.  I feel that is good enough for one evening. Now it is ME time.
And if I don’t feel like doing anything but mindless things on the computer, Like write a silly blog entry, then by gosh o gee willikers I’m gonna do just that.

And if runnning spell check seams liek to much of a bother — well i guess yu know whats gonna happen here- I aint gonna run it, becuase I dont wanna.

In these winter months there is so much that we cold get done, but it seems the cold, the lack of sun, the after holiday blues or what ever it is just gangs up on you, and a person just has to say – “I’m not going to do anything if I don’t want to today”.

After all just once in a while you need some time to not do anything at all unless you want to.

So if when I get up tomorrow I don’t feel like going to work, well, I will probably go in anyway because I am not a convincing liar on the phone about being sick.

I hope this truly inspire you to take a day for your self, heck take a week, or a month , or the WHOLE dam WINTER if you feel like it, to do ONLY what you wanna do , and not one thing more.

When March comes, and none of this stuff is done that i COULD have gotten out of the way,  well I’ll deal with the guilt trip then (gulp) – Maybe. And I will Probably get mad at myself for not getting these chores done before the weather turned out real nice!

’nuff said.

P.S. I have NO idea how the tag tool come up with its suggested tags for this article. It is recommending the following: Arts, New York, Humor, Video Games, Games, God androle playing. now after you have read all of this article how in the world does it come up with those suggestions? ( and that is before I wrote this section, obviously)

weird.

About Air Cooled Underware

Everyday life provides many an occasion to make you think "hmmmm, " and you feel that you may offer some insight to that situaion, or have an alternate view of it. This occurs to me a lot. when this happens I have to express it someway and so I write about these things and just maybe I will catch the interest of a reader / follower or two long the way. For further information about "ME", click on "About Me" above. Thanks for reading my Stuff.
This entry was posted in General Bloggin and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

191 Responses to I just don’t wanna…

  1. Pingback: IHATECOLD IHATESNOW IHATEW….. | Air Cooled Underware

  2. lolabees says:

    This is good stuff. I left my career last December, and it seems that it’s been 9 months straight of I just don’t wanna! LOL. I keep waiting for it to pass… but until then, I’ll just enjoy it. We all need that every once in a while.

    • Thank you LOLA. Major changes like that can be unsettling, and the JDW Bug ( Just Don’t Wanna) can sometime be the cure– If you don’t get a terminal case of it. Good luck in your career search. Thanks for stopping in.

  3. Pingback: Oh my I have been freshly Pressed- whatever shall I do? | Air Cooled Underware

  4. You had me at the title….

  5. Midnight says:

    I do the same thing, though truthfully, it’s an every season disaster for me! My winter check list usually consists of:
    Make a nice, warm scarf. Or several. (But I never do.)
    Finally make a quilt! (Nope, I’ll just buy one.)
    Clean out my closet. (Still can’t see the floor.)
    Finish playing a video game? (I own hundreds of games, not a single one played until the end…)

  6. Pink Ninjabi says:

    Love it! As I sit here and wonder why my Wii video gaming has increased this past recent month. And not wanting to do anything but to relax after a week of hectic activities.

    Thank you for reminding us of our rights to just ‘not wanna’ do something. 😀 Especially, I find, when we are told we should ‘wanna’ do it. Makes me wanna not do it even more.

  7. HAHAHA!! Thank you, I needed that. You made me laugh, okay, and admit that winter does make me somewhat lazy too. I need to be packing to move in a few weeks, but I don’t wanna.
    Thank you for sharing!
    Cherry
    http://www.spilledcookies.com

  8. A piece is a good piece when other people (many, many, many) can recognize themselves in what you have written. It seems that you managed to do just that, even if you may not have had the intention to “wanna do that.” 🙂

  9. Eryka says:

    cool

    check out my blog angeleryka.wordpress.com

  10. Eryka says:

    love the blog

    check out my blog angeleryka.wordpress.com

  11. shammee says:

    Reading each para made me remind of all those things that i needed to fix , but all i did was to add them in ma To-Do-List ….. Sometimes , u are Just so much overburdened by the tasks , that u end up doing nothing , lolz, that happens with me all the time ….
    and than i have to get back to square one >>>

  12. Yes! Im lazy too. Ironically, I think I could get more things accomplished if I lived at the beach!

  13. Oh, how familiar I am with those I don’t wanna moments, and sometimes days. However, I have two things working in my favor–I am an online student at Penn State University, and no matter how much I don’t wanna, I gotta; and secondly, just three months ago, I discovered blogging. I love to write and I love to read and no matter the season, I almost always seem up to it. Now, on the other hand, things like eating, cleaning, shopping, or just watching a movie, yeah, I don’t wanna, especially in the winter. In light of all of this, I chose “sometimes” on your pole, though I probably could have gotten away with “Yes.” Very good topic and some valid points made throughout your post! My curiosity is now piqued and I will begin to follow your blog, looking for more real life tidbits and truths!

    -Cindy

  14. whitofthepen says:

    Reblogged this on White Island and commented:
    My thoughts exactly, around this time of year. Explains so much…

  15. copycatmom says:

    Love your post. In part because I have been in “I don’t wanna” mode for a bit. I “kinda gotta” at this point. I am a SAHM and if I don’t get off my bum here soon, people are going to assume that I sit around and eat bon bons. Truth is I have been lazy and decided all I wanted to do was surf the net and be on my ipad. It lasted roughly 48 hours. My small time of defiance. Sure felt good though.

  16. ilovecats says:

    very cute. I’m glad I’m not the only one who suffers from motivational issues during the winter. I would much rather snuggle with my cats than go out in the cold.

  17. Having lived in Boston for more than a decade, I share the sentiment of not wanting to anything during the cold, blistering, wintry months that seem to go on forever and ever. Why can’t it be summer all year round?

    😀

  18. Thank You Kabo. I appreciate the input. I did a fast read of one of your blogs and it is funny.. I hope that is your intent! good Luck in 2012

  19. the777man says:

    Sitting here in California where the winters are often not cold enough for a coat at least not a real coat like you probably dawn to go outside… I have to say I think I put more off in the summer. You know when the temps get up in the 100’s (as high as 115 or even higher)! It is like do I want to go to town right now, no I don’t wanna get in the hot car and burn my hands on the black steering wheel and stick shift (I don’t know why most cars have dark colored steering wheels and dash boards?). Do I wanna go for a swim? Oh man! I will burn my feet on the cement, besides the water is probably luke warm or down right warm. Oh I should go dig the bugs out of the pool today, but it is really hot out there, and besides I think I might have a snake in the pool. Do I wanna mow the law? Awe, I think I will wait till the temps get below 99 degrees. Man I really could go for a nice cold icy dessert, but there is no way to get it home from the grocery store, so I guess I won’t get it!

    Awe the temps have finally dropped to about 98 degrees, but the mosquitoes are out thick tonight, so I guess the yard work will have to wait! (I live on a ranch where rice is grown, and mosquitoes are so thick you can breath them in).

    I do understand where you are coming from, but I think it gets a little turned around out here because like yesterday was like 75 degrees, I wanna be outside then!

    Peace and Harmony,
    Sj

    • This is a GREAT WEST Coast version of the same sentiment. Thank You SJ you say t very well. Great job — kind of Point / Counterpoint like on the old news shows.9 and SNL of yore)
      I am puzzled by your Blog name – I was fully expecting it to be written by a male, but it seems you are female. Enquireing Minds want to know……(wink)

      • the777man says:

        Yea it is an odd name for me! LOL! This started out as a project my dad and I were working on, but he is 80 and I do most of the work on it… At first I wasn’t sure if I liked the name, but I think it works okay for me! Hahaha! Keeps people guessing I guess…

  20. Sam says:

    I dont wanna, but i gotta, so i do. Winter doesnt make me lazy, lack of sleep does.

    • Hi Sam- Thanks for the read and your poem. I love your site. Pleas do keep writing. You remind me of a seller on the http://www.etsy.com website. this gent wrote all of his correspondence in great rhymes. I don’t recall who he was i will have to dig up his site and pas that on her ins a regular Blog post. He was good. So are you !

  21. I do get kind of lazy during Winter, BUT…this year I just got exhausted! My job as a portrait photographer is insane during Christmas, my transportation decided to break down so I was commuting 5 hours a day, and when I would get home, I’d collapse! 🙂 But Spring makes me want to get out and DOOOOO stuff! Love your comments on the tags…I’m going to have to have fun with the tag suggestions as well!

    Blessings,

    Dug
    http://tr4f.wordpress.com

  22. Love the post! As a Seattle native, I understand a thing or two about lack of motivation in the winter… along with Vitamin D deficiencies and rain. There’s something about not seeing the sun that gets to you after a while. I couldn’t agree more, everyone needs a time-out ever so often. I find it essential in order to recharge the batteries, so to speak.
    http://erikarenea.com/

  23. whenquiet says:

    Just visited a friend recovering from hysterectomy today…She was having three week after spasms in lower stomach and was beating herself up about not having walked today…I told her, “So what? You need to heal….!” She was preparing herself so I could take her to her physiotherapy appointment…Then she realized, I was right. So what if she didn’t get in her walk…She reflected on how she got through the surgery and is now healing….Me? On my free day, I visited her because I chose to, because I wanted to( and the unironed clothes can wait another week:-)…) Then, I returned home to a letter from my insurance company requesting more documentation before they reimbourse me for a bill I paid in October 2011. I simply threw it down and said, “Not!” tonight….Tomorrow…..
    gosh oh gee willikers….I like that!!

    • ‘When’, this sounds like it was an exhausting day physically and emotionally ..so no one blames you when you decide that “I’m DONE” for the day. It is better done before the body and mind give out totally. Thanks for reading. I will get to do more reading on your site in – oh – maybe 2013. lol. I have had so many great people take the time to read me and leave comments due to being FP that it will take me quite some time to check all of them out. That is why I take a quick look at each persons page so give me just a little info about those that cared enough to leave comments. Thank you for your time this day. God Bless.

  24. Samantha says:

    Congrats on Freshly Pressed! I understand this so well, especially on a day like today where I won’t have another day off till a week from now…I don’t wanna…so I won’t! Thanks for making it clear that it’s okay to feel that way, especially in winter 🙂

  25. aFrankAngle says:

    Well done … and greetings from the SW corner of our state.

  26. Smaktakula says:

    Awesome post. I’m not sure if it’s winter that gives me the ‘don’t wannas’ or just my lazy nature.

    • I am sure that it would take too much time to get a complete answer, and beside – folks like you and me don’t really care cuz there not much that we can do really? is there? GRIN
      Thanks for the read.

  27. krafte says:

    I am okay on sunny winter days, but on gray days…forgetabouit!! all I want to do is cuddle on the couch, take naps, drink tea, and read. Sometimes, I really think I am am cold-blooded animal because sunshine and heat makes such a difference in my energy levels!

  28. charlywalker says:

    I like the way you Air your Briefs!

    spread the humor:charlywalker.wordpress.com

    • Lol — You know Charley – I read this last night and your comment didn’t sink in. “What the heck is she talking about” I said to my self..
      This evening as I am again about to go to bed after replying to ” just one more commenter”, It hit me what you are saying and I am laughing at my denseness. GRIN. Thanks for the laugh. A quick read of your page — Oh I do remember those days so well. – IT was GREAT!
      Thank you for reading my post.

  29. mpreeti says:

    Stumbled Upon your post and every single don’t wanna resonated with something i just wrote. i’m from India and currently doing the not so 9-5 grind and i don’t wanna just goes on and on like a refrain from a crazy song.
    i don’t wanna wake up at 5 when the whole world sleeps
    i don’t wanna go work on a saturday when all my friends down beer at some pub
    i don’t wanna log in after coming back from work when the whole world sits down to watch a sitcom
    but i do wanna follow your posts, so do keep writing 😀

    • Hey I like your little impromptu song.. and to let you know I fully understand what your work schedule seems to be like, as Mine really stinks as well.
      I really like the way you end this song, so with you in mind, I will keep writing. thanks Mpreeti

  30. neko76 says:

    You just described every day of my life! I don’t have to work, I have no kids, pretty much no obligations…meaning I rarely get much done. Instead of enjoying my freedom, I’m constantly battling myself with all the “You should do this or that” in my head. Winter just makes it worse.

    • Sometime a good old fashioned to Do list can help us get organized,, and maybe a little driven. right Now I am driven to answering all of the people who commented on this posting that were brought her by my being freshly pressed, and at least visiting and taking a good read of their postings. – so I got pretty busy all of a sudden.. and its been great fun to meet so many people from all over this world. Thanks for reading me.

  31. I love the suggested tags at the end. It’s like they are telling you they didn’t pick up on your rant at all. I completely agree though, winter leaves me wanting to just lay around and watch movies or look at old pictures of the Spring or Summer. Unless I can be snowboarding or enjoying the snow, I don’t want any gloom looming over : )

    • About the tags.- frequently i am baffled by the tags the autotagger picks some times. hmmm beats me.
      the weather her this week has been real teaser then super windy , rain and now mroe cold.
      I”m getting tired of this crappy weather we had lately.
      Thanks for reading me Brit. good day.

  32. Your poetic and humorous expression of a simple and obviously widely popular attitude certainly hit home. “I don’t wanna” is the perfect mini-rebellion, very little harm done until its April 20th and you realize you probably should’ve started the taxes at some point. Thanks for saying it so well.

  33. ahmad says:

    Thanks.
    Its very good.

  34. Fly to Sky says:

    Reblogged this on The Little Thing to Share.

  35. You were Freshly Pressed!! Yay!! Congrats! 😀

  36. seanjrankine says:

    One of my many afflictions!

    • LOL I can see that by the long delays in your writing periods on your site..I love the name of your blog, and the fact that you DONT write every month is almost subliminally expected because of its name. Keep On Procrastinating Sean.

Now it's your turn...

